The Problem of the Wire Cage, by John Dickson Carr: A Short Review

The Problem of the Wire Cage, by John Dickson Carr (Zebra Books, 1986)

The Problem of the Wire Cage, by John Dickson Carr (Zebra Books, 1986)

Originally published in 1939, The Problem of the Wire Cage has a surprising sort of insouciance to it, the kind of lightness about it that makes one think that Carr wasn’t watching the world situation too closely, or, perhaps, that he just didn’t want to know. It is an unusual tale which, despite being the eleventh featuring Dr Gideon Fell, doesn’t see Fell appear until a third of the book has already passed. But the book is full of those classic Carr touches which will make any fan rejoice.

The tale begins with a quartet out for a game of tennis: two rivals for the affection of young Brenda White, and Kitty Bancroft, and older widow (though perhaps only in her thirties. Of the rivals, Hugh Rowland has just made his case for Brenda, although she is engaged as part of an inheritance plan to the unpleasant Frank Dorrance. The tennis game is played in the grounds of the home of the dangerously impecunious and badly crippled Nicholas Young, who is legal guardian over Brenda and is deeply invested in her marriage to Dorrance. The court itself rests at the centre of the titular “wire cage” (misleadingly, I assumed this was to be a book about birds). When a storm breaks and forces the quartet to shelter, they spend their time discussing how they might commit a murder.

When murders begin to happen, therefore, suspicions run wild, and it is down to Dr Fell to see through the lies told him not only by the guilty, but by the innocent. There are moments in the books which seem more in the vein of Carter Dickson, Carr’s alter-ego (as when Hugh and his father discuss his plight, and scenes involving an amorous Texan with a whip), and the plot, as mentioned, is oddly constructed. The elusive Mrs Fell is even mentioned (once), during a tangential discussion of Dr Fell having recently moved house.

With a solution that makes surprisingly good sense (Carr’s solutions are sometimes difficult to visualize), this is one of Carr’s better books. I’m still not certain if there is anything to be gained by reading the Fell stories in order, but if readers have that luxury, it might not do any harm. By no means a slouch, The Problem of the Wire Cage is a quick, puzzling, and entertaining read. Four stars.

Originally reviewed 28 June 2015.

Find your copy of The Problem of the Wire Cage at AbeBooks.com.

Advertisements

About Bill Bibliomane

Reader and writer, collector and cataloguer. Amateur mineralogist, astronomer, numismatist, philatelist: I have too many hobbies. I'm somewhat compulsive when it comes to book shopping. Fortunately for my budget, there are no bookshops near to my home. Unfortunately, I've discovered the Internet. I started out reviewing books for my own amusement. Now I've decided to assemble them on my own site.
This entry was posted in Authors-Carr John Dickson, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Problem of the Wire Cage, by John Dickson Carr: A Short Review

  1. Angela says:

    I love these types of stories! Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s