Books in Groups: Fit the First

So today is another #DarwinDay, an annual event commemorating the birthday of English naturalist Charles Darwin, born this day in 1809.

In honour of that fact… look, I made a pretty picture on the carpet:

darwin_collection_2017

A collection of works by Charles Darwin, in a variety of modern editions.

Since I’ve been in a dark place, lately (to be fair, so have a lot of people, so no, my darkness isn’t especially dark, or greater than yours, if you see what I mean), I thought I’d try for a ray of sunshine on this — yet again unseasonably warm, probably due to climate change — otherwise not unpleasant day.

I’ve read a fair amount of Darwin’s writing over the years, but I haven’t even really scratched the surface of his work. And today, I’ll probably just end up flipping through the facsimile first edition of On the Origin of Species for a few minutes, like I always do. It’s the same copy that I used in a university course some years ago. Simpler times.

But Darwin’s work also serves as an important reminder of that dreadful old cliché that the only real constant in life is change. Time advances. Entropy increases. So while we have our health and our liberty, let’s raise a glass to change, and damn the buggers that would bring us down.

Oh, yes… and this: evolution is a fact. Not a statement of belief, but a statement of fact. It really happened. It’s still happening. And whether you like it or not, whether you believe it or not, it’s going to carry on happening. Evolution doesn’t need your permission.

Happy Darwin Day, 2017.

About Bill Bibliomane

Reader and writer, collector and cataloguer. Amateur mineralogist, astronomer, numismatist, philatelist: I have too many hobbies. I'm somewhat compulsive when it comes to book shopping. Fortunately for my budget, there are no bookshops near to my home. Unfortunately, I've discovered the Internet. I started out reviewing books for my own amusement. Now I've decided to assemble them on my own site.
This entry was posted in Authors-Darwin Charles, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

